Skip to content

Why care about your community?

7

I grew up 6000 miles away from my relatives and have been fortunate beyond all imagination to have a family adopt me and raise me as their own. While I’ve grown older and gained more perspective, one thing that has become clear to me is that without community I would never have survived.

Community provides a world of opportunity where before there was none. It’s the medicine we all seek. I’ve found friendship and love. Creativity and destruction. When I’m with a community I feel invincible.

No doubt, it’s a special feeling being with other people. It’s warming in a way clothes could never quite match. Everyone has a unique personality and it’s a wonder to meet everyone and get to know them for who they are. People are special and everyone is working to build a life for themselves.

If I can help people live their best life, then I’ll be right there helping. I love to call my job leadership, but more often it feels like being a friend.

Without the kindness of others I would never have gotten to where I am. It’s truly a blessing to be in the company of this community and more than anything I wish to share that with you.

OurPangea is a community network. I want to leave the world a better place and to tackle the greatest problems we as humanity face. If all I do is inspire people to work together and see each other as family, than I’ll consider my life lived well. The world may seem large, but with your help we can make it as intimate as any family. We are all brothers and sisters, mothers and fathers, sons and daughters and as we learn to see each this way, perhaps the world will start to feel more like home.

I smile when I think of a future where no one ever feels alone and together we all have the life we wish we were living.

Reblogged

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

