Skip to content

Let’s make Online Ads Better for Everyone

Has it occurred to anyone that the way ads are being presented online today is actually taking away from the ‘socialness’ of these networks?  Let’s explore this a little further.

woman vintage website chinese scream afraid

Calm down, everything will be just fine. Also, I didn’t know you knew Chinese.

If I am on a social network to interact, I’m there because I’m interested in the aspect of friendship, not in what brands I might like because of my friendships. I’m certainly not on this social network because I am interested in what my connection to them can get me.  I think most people with friends would agree with me on this point, but some networks must think otherwise because there are still a good amount of pushy ads out there.

At OurPangea, we want to have our cake and eat it too. User engagement and experience on-site should be the main focus overall, and we also need the ability as users to opt-in explicitly to see the ads we want to.  We think that any paid message on a social network should be a natural extension of the interests and unique perspectives already being shared without being intrusive.

We know we can find a way to make social network ads better for everyone.  Advertising can be a seamless contribution to the interactive melting pot of online communities. Is that really too much to ask?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

